Mentorship #2

I have had contact with students in grade 1 and grade 6. I was noticing that at times Skype would cut in and out… I am planning on reading stories to the children and having this type of connection is not ideal. To try to bypass technology failing me, I have recorded videos of me reading the stories and uploaded them to YouTube. I am reading “Froggy Gets Dressed” by Jonathan London to the grade 1’s and are going to talk a bit about hibernation.

I am reading “If Your Not From The Prairie” by David Bouchard to the grade 6’s and we are going to talk a little bit about the differences associated with living on the prairies vs. living near the ocean.

More to come!

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “Mentorship #2

  1. Kendra

    This is great Amanda! I’m so happy for you that your mentorship is up and running! Sounds like you will be busy with grades 1 & 6. I’m interested in knowing who responds better to the Skype lesson; who do you think will be more interested? I’m excited to get my mentorship going and hope to have something to share soon!

    Reply
  2. aleik03 Post author

    Thanks Kendra!
    That is a great question. Both groups of students practiced proper “Skype etiquette” stating their name, listening, saying thank you after each conversation. I did find however that I had a more deep/meaningful conversation with grade 6. The grade 1’s had a shorter attention span and wanted to get to their work immediately, which is expected from that age group. The grade 6 students and I had a half hour conversation meeting eachother! We showed each other our currency, they loved the loonie and toonie, talked about weather, of course they asked about hockey and snow. It was a lot of fun and a great learning experience! Can’t wait to hear about yours.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

