In All Honesty…

Now, I understand and am aware of the technology all us around and the need to know how to navigate through it in order to “survive” in the society we live in. I do believe that technology does have a place in our schools… But I do ask the question, how much technology is too much? Albert Einstein once said, “I fear the day when the technology overlaps with our humanity. The world will only have a generation of idiots.” Has technology advanced to the point that we do not need face-to-face contact? I am guilty of going on a date with my boyfriend and bringing my cell phone, I am guilty of going out with friends while all of us have sat and texted or played with our phones, I am guilty of not turning my cell phone off during a movie, and the list goes on and on. Using technology in our classrooms can be a great and rewarding experience, but can too much technology be leading our students into a world where people cannot function without modern day technology? I do see the irony of me posting this via my blog, for a class that is “web-delivered” requiring no face-to-face contact, but I ask the question: How much technology is too much? Did Einstein predict the future? Is technology really overlapping with our humanity?

3 thoughts on “In All Honesty…

  1. taylorvanchu

    I have asked myself this question numerous times. I think technology is a great way for teacher-parent interaction. During my internship we actually had a few parents that were unable to make the parent teacher interviews…so some interviews were done via Skype/Facetime. Although it was preferred that interviews were to be done in person, we understood that many parents worked shift work or were busy with other daily tasks. I think technology is a great way to create relationships with parents whether that is through blogging, email or facebook. Many parents ask their children “What did you learn today?” and the normal response is “I don’t know, not much.” By creating a classroom blog or twitter feed you enable that connection with parents so they know exactly what is going on in the classroom. I think technology is great as long as it is used in the right way. I think technology becomes a problem when we use it to “keep kids busy.” I think all parents are guilty of turning on the television to keep their kids entertained while they go about doing their daily duties. I also think teachers are guilty of sometimes just putting on a video to get through the day. I find that children are now being entertained by technology instead of being entertained by their own imaginations.

    Reply
  2. Jenny

    Amanda, I think the question you’re asking is one worth asking about any instructional tool or strategy. Worksheets have their place but wouldn’t be good all the time. Group work is important but also wouldn’t work for everything. What we use and why, as teachers, is critical to reflect on frequently.

    That doesn’t address the question about the impact of technology on our face-to-face interactions. The best ways I’ve seen technology used in classrooms have enhanced connections between people, both within the classroom and without. It’s easy to see a path down which education could travel that has students in their own little space with just a computer. That is concerning. But I don’t think it’s an issue in the great majority of classrooms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

